We’re arbiters of taste.)

Best Feature

The Green KnightDavid Lowery, director; Toby Halbrooks, James M. (As always, full disclosure: Some Vulture writers are among the nominating committee. Studios)Rachel Sennott in Shiva Baby (Utopia Distribution)Suzanna Son in Red Rocket (A24)Amalia Ulman in El Planeta (Utopia Distribution)

Breakthrough Series – Long Format (over 40 minutes)

The Good Lord Bird, Ethan Hawke, Mark Richard, creators; James McBride, Brian Taylor, Ryan Hawke, Ethan Hawke, Jason Blum, Albert Hughes, Mark Richard, Marshall Persinger, David Schiff, executive producers (Showtime)

It’s a Sin, Russell T Davies, creator; Russell T Davies, Peter Hoar, Nicola Shindler, executive producers (HBO Max)

Small Axe, Steve McQueen, creator; Tracey Scoffield, David Tanner, Steve McQueen, executive producers (Amazon Studios)

Squid Game, Kim Ji-yeon, Hwang Dong-hyuk, executive producers (Netflix)

The Underground Railroad, Barry Jenkins, Colson Whitehead, creators; Barry Jenkins, Adele Romanski, Mark Ceryak, Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Colson Whitehead, Jacqueline Hoyt, executive producers (Amazon Studios)

The White Lotus, Mike White, creator; Mike White, David Bernad, Nick Hall, executive producers (HBO Max/HBO)

Breakthrough Series — Short Format (under 40 minutes)

Blindspotting, Rafael Casal, Daveed Diggs, creators; Rafael Casal, Daveed Diggs, Jess Wu Calder, Keith Calder, Ken Lee, Tim Palen, Emily Gerson Saines, Seith Mann, executive producers (STARZ)

Hacks, Lucia Aniello, Paul W. In a first for the awards, the acting categories have been made gender-neutral: Outstanding Lead Performance, Outstanding Supporting Performance, Outstanding Performance in a New Series, and Breakthrough Performer. Downs, Lucia Aniello, Michael Schur, David Miner, Morgan Sackett, executive producers (HBO Max/HBO)

Reservation Dogs, Sterlin Harjo, Taika Waititi, creators; Taika Waititi, Sterlin Harjo, Garrett Basch, executive producers (FX)

Run the World, Leigh Davenport, creator; Yvette Lee Bowser, Leigh Davenport, Nastaran Dibai, executive producers (STARZ)

We Are Lady Parts, Nida Manzoor, creator, Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Surian Fletcher-Jones, Mark Freeland, executive producers (Peacock)

Breakthrough Nonfiction Series

City So Real, Jeff Skoll, Diane Weyermann, Alex Kotlowitz, Gordon Quinn, Betsy Steinberg, Jolene Pinder, executive producers (National Geographic)

Exterminate All the Brutes, Raoul Peck, Rémi Grellety, executive producers (HBO/HBO Max)

How to With John Wilson, John Wilson, creator; Nathan Fielder, John Wilson, Michael Koman, Clark Reinking, executive producers (HBO/HBO Max)

Philly D.A., Ted Passon, Yoni Brook, Nicole Salazar, creators; Dawn Porter, Sally Jo Fifer, Lois Vossen, Ryan Chanatry, Gena Konstantinakos, Jeff Seelbach, Patty Quillin, executive producers (Topic, Independent Lens, PBS)

Pride, Christine Vachon, Sydney Foos, Danny Gabai, Kama Kaina, Stacy Scripter, Alex Stapleton (FX)

Outstanding Performance in a New SeriesJennifer Coolidge in The White Lotus (HBO Max/HBO)Michael Greyeyes in Rutherford Falls (Peacock)Ethan Hawke in The Good Lord Bird (Showtime)Devery Jacobs in Reservation Dogs (FX)Lee Jung-jae in Squid Game (Netflix)Thuso Mbedu in The Underground Railroad (Amazon Studios)Jean Smart in Hacks (HBO Max/HBO)Omar Sy in Lupin (Netflix)Anya Taylor-Joy in The Queen’s Gambit (Netflix)Anjana Vasan in We Are Lady Parts (Peacock)


Chloé Zhao’s Nomadland Rambles Its Way to Top of Gotham Awards Winners List

Tags: As for the TV categories, we’re especially excited to see recognition for favorites like We Are Lady Parts, How to With John Wilson, and Reservation Dogs. Because the Gothams are thoroughly indie, A24 led the awards with ten nominations for its films. What can we say? Downs, Jen Statsky, creators; Jen Statsky, Paul W. Maggie Gyllenhaal’s The Lost Daughter and Rebecca Hall’s Passing earned four nominations each from the voting body, which recognizes excellence in independent (i.e., budgets under $35 million) films and television. Photo-Illustration: Vulture; Photos by Netflix

Two debut films from female directors, which both happen to be literary adaptations of female authors, lead the list of nominations for the 31st annual Gotham Awards. The Gotham Awards will kick off the coming awards season on November 29, 2021. Johnston, David Lowery, Tim Headington, Theresa Steele Page, producers (A24)

The Lost DaughterMaggie Gyllenhaal, director; Osnat Handelsman Keren, Talia Kleinhendler, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Charles Dorfman, producers (Netflix)

PassingRebecca Hall, director; Nina Yang Bongiovi, Forest Whitaker, Margot Hand, Rebecca Hall, producers (Netflix)

PigMichael Sarnoski, director; Nicolas Cage, Steve Tisch, David Carrico, Adam Paulsen, Dori Roth, Joseph Restiano, Dimitra Tsingou, Thomas Benski, Ben Giladi, Vanessa Block, producers (NEON)

Test PatternShatara Michelle Ford, director; Shatara Michelle Ford, Pin-Chun Liu, Yu-Hao Su, producers (Kino Lorber)

Best Documentary Feature

AscensionJessica Kingdon, director; Kira Simon-Kennedy, Nathan Truesdell, Jessica Kingdon, producers (MTV Documentary Films)

Faya DayiJessica Beshir, director and producer (Janus Films)

FleeJonas Poher Rasmussen, director; Monica Hellström, Signe Byrge Sørensen, Charlotte De La Gournerie, producers (NEON)

PresidentCamilla Nielsson, director; Signe Byrge Sørensen, Joslyn Barnes, producers (Greenwich Entertainment)

Summer of Soul (…or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, director; Joseph Patel, Robert Fyvolent, David Dinerstein, producers (Searchlight Pictures, Onyx Collective, Hulu)

Best International Feature AzorAndreas Fontana, director; Eugenia Mumenthaler, David Epiney, producers (MUBI)

Drive My CarRyusuke Hamaguchi, director; Teruhisa Yamamoto, producer (Sideshow and Janus Films)

The Souvenir Part IIJoanna Hogg, director; Ed Guiney, Emma Norton, Andrew Low, Joanna Hogg, Luke Schiller, producers (A24)

TitaneJulia Ducournau, director; Jean-Christophe Reymond, producer (NEON)

What Do We See When We Look at the Sky?Alexandre Koberidze, director; Mariam Shatberashvili, producers (MUBI)

The Worst Person in the WorldJoachim Trier, director; Thomas Robsham, Andrea Berentsen Ottmar, Dyveke Bjørkly Graver, producers (NEON)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director AwardMaggie Gyllenhaal for The Lost Daughter (Netflix)Edson Oda for Nine Days (Sony Pictures Classics)Rebecca Hall for Passing (Netflix)Emma Seligman for Shiva Baby (Utopia Distribution)Shatara Michelle Ford for Test Pattern (Kino Lorber)

Best ScreenplayThe Card Counter, Paul Schrader (Focus Features)El Planeta, Amalia Ulman (Utopia Distribution)The Green Knight, David Lowery (A24)The Lost Daughter, Maggie Gyllenhaal (Netflix)Passing, Rebecca Hall (Netflix)Red Rocket, Sean Baker & Chris Bergoch (A24)

Outstanding Lead PerformanceOlivia Colman in The Lost Daughter (Netflix)Frankie Faison in The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain (Gravitas Ventures)Michael Greyeyes in Wild Indian (Vertical Entertainment)Brittany S. The full list of nominations is below. Hall in Test Pattern (Kino Lorber)Oscar Isaac in The Card Counter (Focus Features)Taylour Paige in Zola (A24)Joaquin Phoenix in C’mon C’mon (A24)Simon Rex in Red Rocket (A24)Lili Taylor in Paper Spiders (Entertainment Squad)Tessa Thompson in Passing (Netflix)

Outstanding Supporting PerformanceReed Birney in Mass (Bleecker Street)Jessie Buckley in The Lost Daughter (Netflix)Colman Domingo in Zola (A24)Gaby Hoffmann in C’mon C’mon (A24)Troy Kotsur in CODA (Apple)Marlee Matlin in CODA (Apple)Ruth Negga in Passing (Netflix)

Breakthrough PerformerEmilia Jones in CODA (Apple)Natalie Morales in Language Lessons (Shout! The nominee list for the latter category is made up entirely of female performers. But because we live in 2021, Netflix tied with them.